If at first you don’t succeed

Looking back at my diary from the beginning of the year and seeing that my main goal was to get a job as a mental health care assistant.

I had no health care training or health care qualifications but I knew that this was where I wanted to be and I wasn’t going to stop until I got there. All I needed to do was get to the interview. I just needed to be given the chance.

I got rejected from several different health care jobs, then when I first applied to work in the priory I didn’t even get called in for an interview. So I decided to apply again. I used the exact same application form and sent the same cv. I applied for the same job but it was just at a different branch and I emailed a different person. And guess what, I got called in for the assessment day!

I didn’t give up or stop trying because I knew what I wanted and I knew that I wasn’t going to let anything stop me from getting to where I wanted to be!

Every time you get rejected from an opportunity or a job, just remember that this is just one persons opinion, just because you may not be right for them does not mean that everybody else will share that opinion.

Just because something doesn’t work out the first time doesn’t mean it won’t work out the second or the third of the fourth.

When you get rejected and you get knocked down pick yourself up, dust yourself down and try, try again.

Don’t give up on your goals. If you want it then go get it, because if you don’t then someone else will.

***From May 7th 2014, I am now happily employed by the Priory Hospital as a mental health care assistant.***

3 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed

  1. Hi!
    I actually applied recently for the position of HCA at my local Priory Hospital, and I have been invited for an interview tomorrow!! Any tips to make a good impression? What sort of questions did they ask you? Any help would be much appreciated! 🙂 Thank you!
    SiSi

    1. Hi that’s fantastic news! You will get asked about writing a care plan, ie what would you include in the notes when someone is first admitted to your ward. You will be given scenarios on how to deal with difficult patients, safeguarding and how to maintain confidentiality etc but the most important thing they want to see is your passion. They want to know why you want to work there, how will you make a difference. Don’t worry if you have never worked in the MH industry before because they give you the training you need!! They want someone who enjoys working with people, has a genuine interest in mental health and will be able to keep patients safe whilst giving them the best care possible during there stay. Let me know how you get on! Hope this helps xx

  2. Thank you so much for your help! Doing all my research and preparation now. Hopefully it all goes well tomorrow. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

